Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Kill Without Mercy by Alexandra Ivy

Book Description

From the hellhole of a Taliban prison to sweet freedom, five brave military heroes have made it home--and they're ready to take on the civilian missions no one else can. Individually they're intimidating. Together they're invincible. They're the men of ARES Security.

Rafe Vargas is only in Newton, Iowa, to clear out his late grandfather's small house. As the covert ops specialist for ARES Security, he's eager to get back to his new life in Texas. But when he crosses paths with Annie White, a haunted beauty with skeletons in her closet, he can't just walk away--not when she's clearly in danger. . . 

There's a mysterious serial killer on the loose with a link to Annie's dark past. And the closer he gets, the deeper Rafe's instinct to protect kicks in. But even with his considerable skill, Annie's courage, and his ARES buddies behind him, the slaying won't stop. Now it's only a matter of time before Annie's next--unless they can unravel a history of deadly lies that won't be buried.

AVAILABLE: December 29, 2015

Kill Without Mercy is the first book in Alexandra Ivy's ARES Security series.  In this series we are introduced the men of ARES Security.  These five men have been through hell and back together.  And the glue that brought them back together after surviving and escaping is Rafe Vargas.

The last thing Rafe wants to be doing is cleaning out his grandfather's house in Newton, Iowa when he has a new life and business down in Texas.  Rafe didn't have a relationship with his grandfather, but he knows his father would want him to clean out the house.  He has only been in Newton for a few days when he first sees Annie at a local diner.  He is instantly drawn to her and wants to learn more about the woman that has captured his attention so completely.

Annie White is a child of a serial killer.  Fifteen years ago, her father was the Newton Slayer, the local serial killer that killed 7 woman.  Now at 25, Annie has made a life for herself in Denver and has moved past the stigma of being a killer's daughter... or so she thought.  Annie is seeing visions of death again.  So she desides to head back to Newton to see if her visions are becoming reality...

...And they are.

Rafe has ALWAYS been one to trust his instincts, and his instincts are telling two things: that Annie could be in trouble, and that he will do anything to protect her and make her a permanent part of his life.

I really enjoyed everything about this book.  I loved the men of ARES.  Their relationships and banter showed how much of a unit they are.  I loved Rafe and Annie as a couple and individuals.  They made each other better people but still allowed each other to be individuals and make their own decisions.  I am really looking forward to future books from this series.

Rating: 4 out of 5
**I received an ARC through Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.**