Thursday, December 17, 2015

My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

Book Description


Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she's determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn't realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn't want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn't the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she's not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family's resort, Hud thinks he's seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he's been missing far too long. Now he'll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.

AVAILABLE: December 22, 2015

Cedar Ridge Novel
Second Chance Summer (Book 1) Review Here
My Kind of Wonderful (Book 2)

In Second Chance Summer, we were introduced to the Kincaid family: Gray (and Penny), Aiden, Hudson, Jacob (mentioned), and McKenna Kincaid.  These siblings are working to save the family ski resort that their loser father left to them in a MOUNTAIN of debt.  Book 1 focuses on Aiden Kincaid and Lily Danville (for my full review on Second Chance Summer, click HERE).  My Kind of Wonderful is the second novel in Jill Shalvis' Cider Ridge series and focuses on Hudson Kincaid and Bailey Moore.  

Bailey Moore, for the first time in her life, is looking forward to the future.  She never had the opportunity to make plans for herself or even dream about what she wanted out of life.  Bailey wants to learn to live every day to the fullest and enjoy the moment.  She's even made a List of things she wanted (and now could) do: Paint a mural, explore castles in Europe, travel the Greek isles...  And that is why she is in Cedar Ridge.  To gain control of her life and start on her List by painting a mural for the Kincaid family at their resort.  

But Bailey doesn't expect to meet Hudson Kincaid.

All work and no play has made Hudson Kincaid a super-stressed boy.  Between his work as head of the ski patrol for the family ski resort and town cop, trying to SAVE the family resort, taking care of his sick mom, and looking for his twin brother (Jacob), Hud has little to no time for anything else in his life.  All he wants is a few minutes to himself before he's supposed to participate in some safety drills, but he gets a call about someone being "in trouble" at the top of Devil's Face.  He finds Bailey (patiently) waiting for help and something shifts in him when he sees her wonder-filled gaze taking in the mountain views.

Hudson finds himself looking forward to the weekends when Bailey is in Cedar Ridge working on her mural.  And soon "only one night" turns into more nights. But Hud doesn't have the time for a relationship and Bailey has had enough with temporary...

So once the mural is finished will Hudson be able to let her go?

While each book is a standalone (since it each story focuses a different sibling and their story of finding love) and doesn't have to be read in order, I would FULLY recommend reading them in order so you can get the full effect of the WONDERFUL Kincaid family.  This is probably one of my FAVORITE book families I've EVER read.  They are fiercely loyal to each other, yet they still tease and torture each other ENDLESSLY (with embarrassing underwear).

Rating: 5 out of 5

**I received an ARC through Netgalley in exchange of a honest review.**