Monday, November 23, 2015

Once Kissed by Cecy Robson





Book Description

Once they shared a night of passion. Now a chance encounter forces them back together. In Cecy Robson's O'Brien Family series debut—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—two total opposites find that the flames of desire are still smoldering.
 
Tough-as-steel cop Curran O'Brien is quickly rising through the ranks of the Philadelphia police department. But when his rookie partner is almost killed under his watch, Curran just wants to prove he still has what it takes to walk among Philly's finest. So he's pissed to be stuck on a cushy security assignment for the DA's office . . . until he gets a good look at the sweet, straitlaced intern he's supposed to protect—but not touch.
 
Tess Newart recognizes Curran instantly. How could she not? Back in college she tied this former frat boy to the bed with her argyle socks! That sizzling one-night stand was the only indiscretion Tess ever allowed herself. She has survived law school so far, despite being pushed to succeed by her overbearing father. Now that she's interning on a major case against a ruthless crime boss, she won't jeopardize her career by giving in to temptation again. She just never expected temptation to look so damn hot in uniform.
 
Tess knows her father has other plans for her, and they don't include Curran. But soon she's falling for him all over again. And when danger emerges, Curran will prove just how good a bad-boy cop can be.

AVAILABLE: November 3, 2015

This review is difficult for me to write.  Not because it was bad (because it wasn't), but because it was so different then what I was excepting after reading the book description.  The book description made this book out to be a romantic suspence.  Pretty DA assistant being guarded by a cop (who happens to be DA's brother) during a big mafia trial in Philly.  Cool, count me in.  The trial (more trial-prep/research) was in the background throughout the story, Once Kissed was about two wounded people coming together and working through their trauma together.

Tess Newart is in her last year of law school and interning at the District Attorney's office for experience.  She was selected to help Declan O'Brien, the Assisant DA, to help research the biggest mob trial in years.  And as a procaution, the District Attorney has assigned police "supervision" to those involved.  And the cop assigned to protect her... she had a one-night stand with him 4 years ago.

Curran O'Brien doesn't want to be wasting his time supervising the "homely" research assisant for his brother.  The only reason he has this crappy assignment is so he can get his head on right after his rookie partner was shot and almost killed.  But after recognizing Tessa as his new assignment, things are looking up.  Curran never thought he'd see Tessa again after their one unforgetable night together.  And the only problem now is he's not supposed to touch her.

(How many times can I say assigned/assignments in a few paragraphs?!?)

I LOVED Curran.  He was smart, loyal, and a (funny) smartass.  He brought out the real Tessa and gave her a place to feel safe and comfortable.  And it was great watching Tessa grow as a person and become more confident in herself and stand up for herself.  Curran's love did that for her.  He consistly teased her, yet showered her with compliments and attention.  For someone who has NEVER had that in her life, Tessa didn't know how to respond to him at first.  

I thought these two were perfect for each other and can't wait to read more about this crazy family.  

I think Declan will be next! =] 

Rating: 4 out of 5

**I received an ARC through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.**

If you liked this review, please leave comments and make sure to subscribe to my blog!!